Website of the Antique Airplane Association and the Airpower Museum Last Update: May 20 2018

BTB Days

Back-To-Blakesburg and Back-To-Basics
AAA/APM Invitational Fly-In, August 29 - September 3, 2018

The Antique Airplane Association Inc. and the Air Power Museum Inc. are pleased to announced that that 2018 AAA/APM Invitational Fly-In will once again celebrate "BTB Days", Back-to-Blakesburg and Back-to-Basics.

Back in 1971, the first AAA/APM Invitational Fly-in was held at Antique Airfield near Blakesburg, IA and that event has been around long enough to have created it’s own history that many of our younger/newer members may be unaware of.

The AAA/APM Invitational Fly-in, envisioned as a "by-the-members, for-the-members" convention and reunion, was a revolutionary way to hold a major aviation event - one that over the last 40+ years has proven time and again to be popular with our membership. Antique Airfield was then and still to this day owned in total by members of the Taylor family and the Air Power Museum (APM). As it receives no federal, state or local monies, the AAA/APM Invitational Fly-in is a private event that is truly "by-the-members, for-the-members"!

While the past four decades has seen many changes in Antique Airfield and in our membership, the direction AAA/APM Founder Robert Taylor envisioned for the AAA has remained steadfast & constant. That is why in 2018 we will again celebrate "BTB Days" or Back-to-Blakesburg and Back-To-Basics!

As for Back-to-Basics, we emphasize how the AAA/APM Fly-In is simple, relaxing and fun with antique/classic aircraft flying from dawn till dusk.

Brent Taylor
President AAA
AAA/APM Invitational Fly-in Chairman

People and Airplanes Already Registered

Frants Madsen's 1940 Aeronca 65CA from Arizona
(Paul Stevens photo)
Charles Slinger's 1940 Porterfield CP-65 from Wisconsin
(G.R. Dennis Price photo)
Gary Greenland's 1946 Cessna 140 from Pennsylvania
(G.R. Dennis Price photo)
Jere Calef's 1948 Cessna 195 from California
(Paul Stevens photo)
Jeff Sullens' 1948 Stinson 108-3 from Missouri Jonathan Apfelbaum's 2004 Glastar from Colorado
(Dave Miller photo)
Jim Schreier's 1955 Cessna 170B from Iowa
(G.R. Dennis Price photo)
Russell Williams' 1938 Ryan SCW from Washington
(Paul Stevens photo)
John Allen’s 1947 Piper PA-11 from Iowa John Nance’s 1936 Stinson SR-8C from California
John Swander's 1932 Waco UEC from Kansas
(G.R. Dennis Price photo)
William Fields’ 1939 Rearwin Cloudster from KY
(Brent Taylor photo)
Bruce McElhoe's 2016 Bearhawk LSA from California Mark & Mary White's 1999 Wittman W10 Tailwind from Florida
(G.R. Dennis Price photo)
Ed Lachendro's 1932 Waco IBA from Wisconsin
(Alan Achor photo)
Jeff Cain’s 1940 Piper J-4A from Colorado
Marc Remhof’s 1946 Cessna 140 from Minnesota Stephen Mineart's 1946 Stinson 108 from Iowa
(G.R. Dennis Price photo)
Edwin Cooper's 2006 Hatz CB-1 from Texas
(G.R. Dennis Price photo)
Chad Hill's 2011 Pietenpol Aircamper from Nebraska
(G.R. Dennis Price photo)
Mike Bowen's 1942 Ryan PT-22 from South Carolina
(Jonathan Apfelbaum/Distant Thunder Aviation Photography photo)
Fred Dexter's 1929 Curtiss C-2 Robin from Florida
(G.R. Dennis Price photo)
R. James Sheely’s 1951 Cessna 170A from Indiana.
(G.R. Dennis Price photo)
Chris Rhoads’ 1950 Piper PA-20 from Indiana
Karl Von Kaenel's 1949 Ryan Navion from South Carolina
(G.R. Dennis Price photo)
Jim Savage's 1939 Spartan 7W Executive from Pennsylvania